And I became the Rainbow

I have always loved Diwali- I call the festival- “the resplendent luminescence” for during the period of its celebration, India is like a jewel sparkling and beckoning to the heavens, the static beauty of rice bulbs and the constantly recycled splendor of fireworks are an illustrious lift to every soul. In my three years in this land, I have tried all within my power to witness and indulge in. Holi on the other hand has been an affair I have always wanted to avoid first for the lighter issue of having to take an unnecessary shower and then for more grievous battle of washing colour splattered clothes which may go a notch upwards with you losing that attire. So as a rule Holi must be avoided and that I had largely done over the past two years.

That of this year though was quite different. Maybe it was because this is certainly going to be my last year and I wanted to indulge in all the revelry it brought. Maybe It was because I saw the rare camaradie among my estate folks, maybe just maybe I wanted to show them that the serious faced African with a smile is the most embracing fellow they will ever come across but I pulled my housemates down and into the colours we went. 

First baptism, a man walked up saying Happy Holi smearing my face with pink, then another came with a huge bucket full of water and drenched us; from then onwards it was a colour shooting affair. I left after two hours but not before seeing my baby bro Embe enact a priceless revenge on a four year old who had made him a walking fountain. He grabbed a handful of colours and lashed it out full force on the spectacled chap. Sadly, he had his mouth wide open whilst spraying another victim with his large water gun. As I walked back home leaving my three housemates to the third staged ritual of being dragged through mud before dancing, I reflected on the essence of this festival- To appreciate the beautiful diversity of life and to indulge in it whatever shade it throws at us.  Three hours after reaching home, I stared at three physical reflections of those shades walking into our home- rainbows from head to toe.

Regards,
SLDJnr

Leave a Reply

