Be Bold for Change – IWD 2017

“The woman who follows the crowd will usually go no further than the crowd. The woman who walks alone is likely to find herself in places no one has ever been before.” – Albert Einstein

International Women’s Year ( IWY ) was the name given to 1975 by the United Nations. Since that year March 8 has been celebrated as International Women’s Day. This day celebrates the achievements of women around the world while promoting gender equality. This celebration comes with an accompanying theme and for the year 2017, the theme is “Be Bold For Change”. As today is IWD and I am a travelblogger, I will be sharing travel quotes by women and hope this will ginger more women to not only travel but also to pursue their dreams.

Here we go;

“The impulse to travel is one of the hopeful symptoms of life.” – Agnes Repplier

“We travel, some of us forever, to seek other states, other lives, other souls.”- Anais Nin

“If you don’t get out of the box you’ve been raised in, you won’t understand how much bigger the world is.” – Angelina Jolie

“Women need real moments of solitude and self-reflection to balance out how much of ourselves we give away.” – Barbara De Angelis

“I wondered why it was that places are so much lovelier when one is alone.”- Daphne du Maurier

“I didn’t know where I was going until I got there.” – Cheryl Strayed

“To travel is worth any cost or sacrifice.” – Elizabeth Gilbert

“You do not travel if you are afraid of the unknown, you travel for the unknown, that reveals you with yourself.” – Ella Maillart

“Surely, of all the wonders of the world, the horizon is the greatest.” – Freya Stark

“Travel does what good novelists also do to the life of everyday, placing it like a picture in a frame or a gem in its setting, so that the intrinsic qualities are made more clear. Travel does this with the very stuff that everyday life is made of, giving to it the sharp contour and meaning of art.” – Freya Stark

“To awaken alone in a strange town is one of the pleasantest sensations in the world.” – Freya Stark

“Traveling’s not something you’re good at. It’s something you do. Like breathing.”- Gayle Foreman

“Loving life is easy when you are abroad. Where no one knows you and you hold your life in your hands all alone, you are more master of yourself than at any other time.” – Hannah Arendt

“Adventure should be part of everyone’s life. It is the whole difference between being fully alive and just existing.” – Holly Morris

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.” – Helen Keller

“Now more than ever do I realize that I will never be content with a sedentary life, that I will always be haunted by thoughts of a sun-drenched elsewhere.” – Isabelle Eberhardt

“Traveling solo does not always mean you’re alone. Most often, you meet marvelous people along the way and make connections that last a lifetime.” – Jacqueline Boone

“Travel is as much a passion as ambition or love.” – Letitia Elizabeth Landon

“Travel opens your mind as few other things do. It is its own form of hypnotism, and I am forever under its spell.” – Libba Bray

“Traveling is like flirting with life. It’s like saying, ‘I would stay and love you, but I have to go; this is my station.”- Lisa St. Aubin de Teran

“It is in all of us to defy expectations, to go into the world and to be brave, and to want, to need, to hunger for adventures. To embrace the chance and risk so that we may breathe and know what it is to be free.” – Mae Chevrette

“I am not the same, having seen the moon shine on the other side of the world.” – Mary Anne Radmacher

Certainly, travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living.” – Mary Ritter Beard

“I love to see a young girl go out and grab the world by the lapels. Life’s a bitch. You’ve got to go out and kick ass.” – Maya Angelou

“An adventure may be worn as a muddy spot or it may be worn as a proud insignia. It is the woman wearing it who makes it the one thing or the other.” – Norma Shearer

“To me, travel is more valuable than any stupid piece of bling money can buy.” – Raquel Cepeda

“I see my path, but I don’t know where it leads. Not knowing where I’m going is what inspires me to travel it.” – Rosalia de Castro

“When you’re traveling with someone else, you share each discovery, but when you are alone, you have to carry each experience with you like a secret, something you have to write on your heart, because there’s no other way to preserve it.” – Shauna Niequist

“The more I travelled the more I realised that fear makes strangers of people who should be friends” – Shirley MacLaine

“You must go on adventures to find out where you belong.” – Sue Fitzmaurice

“I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.” – Susan Sontag

“As a woman I have no country. As a woman my country is the whole world.” – Virginia Woolf

I hope these quotes will get you off your oars to go see the world.

Happy Women’s Day to all women out there. You’re awesome! You keep our world in balance! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

